Hello Michelle!

Hello! It’s been a year ever since everyone decided that by staying at home we could save the nation/world. Initially, it seemed fun (I mean: nice) not going out and not lugging my work stuff around and then gradually it became annoying. Believe it or not, I have no idea who this person I’ve become.

So in an attempt to bring back young Kezia – who loved blogging (despite being inconsistent) and reading (I miss my Geronimo Stilton/Sweet Valley/Mother Daughter Book Club days), I’m attempting to read again. For those of you who have known me from school, I would have been that crazy friend of yours who read while walking on the stairs, read as soon as the ‘cikgu’ left our class or the one read a book a day. #TokohNilamdays. Before I continue, I’d like to thank my bunch of friends who lent me their storybooks during SK and SMK days. Also, kindly acknowledge (after reading this post) that I was such a nice friend, I read your books in a day & returned it coz I remember mummy had a rule: no borrowing friend’s books back home. (Thank God, or else idk how many books I would have misplaced).

For today / the next few weeks (note: I have a day job okay, can’t read 24/7), join me in saying, Hello (*drumroll*) Michelle… Obama!!

Yeah, I know, no need to juling mata (roll your eyes), this book came out long back, probably 2 years ago? Kind souls, G & Mz (G’s ex-fiancee, currently known as her husband – hahaha idk who’s gonna get a heart attack reading this) got me this as a gift. They probably have a video of me unboxing this gift with so much of hu-haa, but yeah, they forgot to ask mummy to send a video of me reading this.

The whole world knows I love books. People get me books as gifts. (Yes, I love how shelves look nice with books, my room looks smart, so does my bookshelf.)

Now the whole world needs to know, somewhere along the way I unloved books. (no idea why I blame – Netflix, Youtube, other cares in life). Safe to say, ‘reading books’ did not make it to my yearly resolutions. I mean whatever makes it to my yearly resolution does not make it at the year-end (that’s a whole different rant).

Anyways, creative me came up with monthly resolutions. LOL. Bite-sized stuff I decide to do and I just have to commit to it for a month.

The good news is…

I’d like to introduce this programme to myself in the shortest month of the year with only 28 days to commit to.

Can’t believe I had to campaign this to myself. All Hail Kezia – Queen of Procrastination.

You can do this too, decide something you’d like to achieve and stick to it, just this February. If you do reward yourself if you don’t teach yourself a lesson like checking Insta once a day for 5 minutes (for an entire month). Trust me limiting yourself on Social Media, especially with a time limit of 5 minutes is harder than just offloading the app for a month.

Take that – I guess you’d rather stick to your bite-sized resolution.

Before you turn around and ask me, “so Kezia, have you read for today?”.
The answer is: “It’s a yes!”. I’m done with 3 chapters (approximately 30 pages) for today.

Let me know your resolutions in the comments below and stick to it la okay.

Toodles for tonight!

One thought on “Hello Michelle!

Leave a comment