Honesty & Necessity

It has been 11 days to be exact, ever since I decided to embark on this whole Kezia 2.0 lifestyle. Blogging every day, which ended up to be alternate days, because I need time to think and every day was just too overwhelming. I wanted blogging to be a happy thing, not something that causes me stress. There was one other thing I wanted to do – reading, in fact, reading was like my main goal and not sure how it pivoted to blogging.

Ultimately, I’ve been trying to balance both, but as much as I’ve started to love writing (again), my progressing with reading has been so-so and not really uplifting as I expected it to be.
[Disclaimer: the book is uplifting, the process wasn’t.] Partly because of the book I chose to begin with – Becoming by Michelle Obama. Don’t get me wrong, I loved reading on how Michelle progressed from preschool, middle school and college etc. I guess I’m at the college part now, reaching here was a hundred pages I guess (or probably a few pages lesser) but the amount of detail is overwhelming for someone who’s trying to rekindle reading biography sort of books.

Stuck between wanting to finish the book and proving myself a point vs wanting to check if I had become such a distracted reader, I picked another book – Purple Cow by Seth Godin, just to test what the world actually happened to me. Considering it a relatively manageable book, with around 200-ish pages, plus, it was an e-book, I had to be a little un-loyal to Michelle. If you read books, reading book ABC while you’re reading book DEF is a big no-no, you’re supposed to stay loyal (I’ve always stayed loyal). Just this one time, I had to make an exception to prove point No.2 – that I’m still an avid & fast reader. Bingo! I read 50 over pages within 40 minutes and didn’t go like “Oh God, when is this imsei (trouble) going to end”. That’s a win.

Here are my two cents, anytime if you don’t do something as much as you expected to, don’t just sit there till the cows go home, try changing the ‘variables’ (I seriously sound like I’m doing a Standard 6 science experiment here). But yeah, you get the point? Then good. Let’s move one.

Moving on…Have you read yesterday’s post? I’ve been on a roll of ideas! You should try my recipe (let’s just hope my mum doesn’t read this), coz yesterday I had to ask her (while blogging) “Ma, what’s the name of the thing we put on our salad”. One more thing, I forgot to include ‘a pinch of salt’ in my recipe yesterday (mummy just reminded me). #Budakbarubelajar problems.

Today, I found another “thing” in our fridge because it was necessary. Yeah, I know necessity is the mother of all food creation. I’ve been wanting to do a fancy snack, (remember that time I was cycling and thinking of a cheese slice – same story) which involved the least amount of risks. Risk = ingredients getting wasted, greater risk = my food looking ugly, greatest risk = someone risking their lives after eating (a.k.a uyir seytharem).

So, I went with the basics. Snack Platter. With just 1 item x 6 (coz I was hungry).

Ta-da, the ingredients. That “thing “ was a cherry tomato.

I’m naming this the Four C’s Snack Platter

Crackers, cheese, coriander, cherry tomatoes

Did you know, you can’t actually dice a cherry tomato. I mean if you manage to dice one, please contact me (via the contact form in this blog). I really wanna be friends with you and know how you did that magic.

Here’s what happened: I actually tried dicing but all the seeds & juice and the good stuff squeezed themselves out, so I had to eat that massacred cherry tomato, coz mummy wouldn’t like me wasting ingredients. I thought it was just one cherry tomato that had the problem (tryna mess / cari pasal with me), then I realized their entire lineage had an un-dice-able problem. RIP to those tomatoes that were butchered.

But not bad, I ate all the butchered stuff, cut few into decent-looking halves, then ‘plated’ it and did something so essential. I took a picture. (If there’s no evidence it didn’t happen.)

That’s all for today, now that I’m currently brimming with achievements like reading, blogging and snacking. Also, there’s no recipe for today. Just go replicate my snack. It’s easy-peasy-lemon-squeezy. You’re welcome.

Toodles for today!

One thought on “Honesty & Necessity

  1. SETHU MUTHU MATHEW February 13, 2021 / 9:16 pm

    Good

    Like

Leave a comment