Love or Hate?

We live an average of 70 years on earth. I mean, sometimes God extends lives and that’s a whole different story.

But if there’s one relationship you can never understand is, the relationship you have with your sibling(s). You can’t live with them, you can’t live without them and you spend almost 20 years wondering if that person in your house is a villain or an angel.

G and I spent most of our time, fighting. In case you read Tom and Jerry , we used to have 3 mini fights, 2 minor fights, 1 medium fight in a day. JK, I didn’t write the number of times we fought, but you get the idea, we fight the uncountable number of times in a day.

I vividly remember that we used to discuss buying houses in different housing areas so that our kids can tell their cousins that they’re coming over for holidays. Little did we know that times will change, she’d get married, move to a different country and if we ever have kids now, they’ll have to go to the neighbouring country to see their cousins.

Okay yeah, this doesn’t sound like me at all. So sentimental. You can keep your packet of Royal Gold / Premier tissue away.

Let’s talk about this love-hate relationship.

You have no idea how close G and I are, that 15 minutes before she walked down the aisle to get married, we fought. Because her bridal car was late. Like excuse me, did I look like the driver or something? So, let me narrate the scenario, coz I’m good at it (and y’all know it).

Back then, it was the time when you could get married and invite 700 people to a wedding and they didn’t have to sit 1 km away (sorry, meter). G was decked in her wedding gown and veil and all and after the gazillion photos, we finally came down the apartment lift lobby. Basically, the entire apartment knew that someone was getting married. Scuttling behind her, basically, on the floor, they might have seen a gold-coloured creature (i.e. me). Struggling with her veil, my fusion dress (yeah, I got myself something fancy) and ultimately G.

FYI, an apartment lobby is ventilated well, unless you’re fully covered with a veil and gloves and all of that kinda stuff you’d be sweating like crazy and you’d be blessing (you know what I mean) the builders will all your heart. We were in that same situation. As we patiently waited for what seemed like 3 hours (tbh, it was just 15 minutes I guess), we tried remaining calm, except for G. She thought I was in charge of driving the car and she kinda ranted/vented/scolded me. I got partially mad that I told her to not get on my nerves. Mummy and daddy tried to command peace at what seemed like a mini Iran-Iraq war.

Hello, is the car coming, or not. My sister is so near to taking a bus and she’s driving me up the wall.

The disaster was averted when the decorated car, finally arrived. Just so you know the church was just 1 minute away, even if you walk. Haha, but please ah a bride doesn’t walk on the road in a gown & veil.

Mission accomplished. That car = angel of God.

As she walked down the aisle, I thought good riddance, I get all the cupboard space I need plus no more running helter-skelter around Klang/KL/Seremban finding for stuff.

My happiness was short-lived as I reached the end of the aisle, where I had to help her get seated and adjust her dress/veil, making sure it looked picture perfect so that I don’t get scolded later when the pictures come out and the back portion of the veil looks scrunched up like a cekodok/bajji. I said bye G, turned to walk away and then all heaven was let loose, and the floodgates were open.

Honestly, I never thought I’d cry, so I never brought a tissue. So much confidence. I ended up sniffing un-glamourous-ly in my Aunt’s / Grandma’s hanky (not sure who came to the rescue). Thank God I tried not wiping my eyes too much or I would have ended up looking like a racoon during the wedding.

After the wedding ceremony, being a good sister, G told me not to worry/cry as we went up to get changed.

Guess what I told her, I cried coz I was so happy that she’s gone. Yahooo!

Hahahahah. The Tom and Jerry story still continues.

Let me know if you’re still confused about whether to love or hate your sibling. That’s something we will all never figure out.

Toodles for tonight.

Leave a comment