Love it? Let it go.

If you know me, you know my never-ending love towards cooking. Heard of the saying, if you love someone/something, let them/it go. Yeah, the same story, I “love” cooking and that’s why I let it go. In case you haven’t read about my dessert mishaps, I’ve been banned from the kitchen ever since. However, I make frequent visits to slice fruits or whenever I’m given the honorary job of shredding carrots for our daily salad. This who carrot salad is a thing in my house lately, coz I was becoming as blind as a bat and after 8 hours of staring at screens my eyes used to water like crazy and do a twitching-break-dance of their own.

In a day I make several trips to the kitchen to refill my water bottle or do the dishes and never thought of attempting anything. Like never, coz I’d like everyone in my house to stay kicking and alive. Anyways, recently, something happened and it has sparked my interest ever since.

A few weeks ago, I got locked out of my room with all my gadgets in it. So obviously, my house has other rooms and I went and sat there without a clue on what to do. I spotted a mini-cookbook on ‘100 Student Recipes’. G got it during a Big Bad Wolf sale and as usual, I didn’t get another copy because I thought we’d be sisters forever and stay in the same house till God knows when. Also, it was a cookbook, like why get something I’d never use.

Long story short, G took the book to her house after getting married for remembrance and I never actually bothered about it till one day I found it in her house. So, I hijacked it back to my premises.

While I was locked out of my room, I found a few recipes in there, which looked colourful (typical me), but never attempted any of it thus far. There was a really cool looking omelette I thought of doing for breakfast and I was so serious about it, but the next day I woke up late for work, so I’ve stored that brilliant idea elsewhere. Also, I decided that grabbing cereal for breakfast is much easier than doing something in the morning.

I guess this whole kitchen & cooking story of mine is the case where, ideally you’d like to do something, but you just presume it would never work out just coz it didn’t work out the first time. I promise you, my dessert was kevelems (kinda horrifying). I’ve watched way too many seasons of cooking shows – Masterchef, Masterchef Junior, Hell’s Kitchen, Cook with Comali. I know what sautee, braise, baste, vinaigrette and other fancy words mean. At the same time, IDK how the world to differentiate between wheat flour and custard flour, they look so deceiving and are the main reason why I have trust issues.

Before I leave, I have one recipe for you (you can thank me later), you’re welcome in advance.

Now You See Me (get my recipe name?)

  1. Shred 1 carrot
    Large size /medium size /whatever your mum allows you to take. Make sure you ask if she needs carrots for sambar curry. Don’t be such a cashew nut (translate in Tamil, it will make sense) and take if she needs it.
  2. Get 4 large dollops of plain yoghurt.
  3. Massacre a bunch of coriander leaves – trust me it gives an awesome smell and tastes amazing as well. Life-changing ingredient. Coz this is the only stuff I make for now.

Mix number 1 & 2 and sprinkle no. 3 like how Salt Bae does and you’re good to go!

Do it the ‘Salt Bae’ way.

Ps: While sprinkling like Salt bae, if it falls on the counter top (and the counter top is clean) you are most welcome to pick it up in a dignified way and put it in your bowl and pretend nothing happened.

I kinda love-like cooking, but for now, I’m letting it go and sticking to my salad.

Toodles for tonight.

2 thoughts on “Love it? Let it go.

Leave a comment